A Book Haul Post

I never was much for Book Haul posts because in a way they felt like bragging.  But I love to SEE book haul posts because they gave me a better idea of upcoming books.  So perhaps it is time for me to join the fray.  So here it is, one month after I rejoined this blogging world, a book haul post of my very own.

Physical Review Copies

black-feathers amberlough

Black Feathers edited by Ellen Datlow – Short stories, mostly horror, about birds.  I have read several of the stories thus far but like all anthologies i tend to go through them slowly rather than shotgunning the entire pile.

Amberlough by Lara Elena Donnelly – The first book that caused me to break out the old contact list and send off a review request; i simply had read this one when I saw it.  Technically the copy hasn’t reached my hands yet but the promise of it has me excited enough to include it.

Digital Review Copies

binti-home buffalo-soldier city-of-miracles kings-of-the-wyld river-of-teeth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

stars-are-legion

Home by Nnedi Okorafor – So i have not read the first one yet.  No problem, I plan to before release of Home.  Okorafor is one of the most respected authors around; the fact I have not yet read her bugs me to no end.

Buffalo Soldier by Maurice Broaddus – I read this one as soon as I received it.  Quick paced steampunk with an alternative United States landscape.

City of Miracles by Robert Bennett Jackson – City of Stairs is one of my favorite books, it is only a few years old and I have read it at least 3 times.  You are damn right I am excited about book 3.

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames – Look at that ‘y’ in wild.  How goth is that?  I don’t know what happened here, I don’t remember requesting this one but apparently I did.  I will give it a try, I am sure.

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey – True story.  There was actually a plan (not one that was in any danger or really happening but a true plan) to release hippos into swamps in the U.S. as a renewable source of meat.  Google it, this is real!  Anyway, this is a novella that starts with that plan actually being put into action.  I.E. just my kind of thing.

The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley – Read it.  Loved it.  Review to come soon.

Physical Copy Bought

empire-ascendant

Empire Ascendant by Kameron Hurley –  I had to buy it.  There is a blurb quote from Fantasy Review Barn inside the cover.  Imagine that.

Ok, that wasn’t so painful.  I think I can start doing these once a month.  See anything you like?  See anything I desperately need?  Know what I should be reading next?  Important questions, all.

5 thoughts on “A Book Haul Post

Leave a comment