A Book Haul Post

It is May now.  And in April I read several books from earlier book haul posts, but none from April’s book haul post.  This will be remedied in May because several June release dates are upcoming.  In the meantime, the old pile keeps growing.  But this is good because some very interesting stuff headed my way this month.

Physical Review Copies

Soul of the World by David Mealing – I have no idea what this one is about.  But Orbit is usually good on the epic fantasy front so I will probably read it.  Debut author.  Oh, and at 700 pages long it will take some kind of commitment.

The Hearts we Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones – The second book received without any prior knowledge but almost certainly the highlight of the haul.  I read the blurb and suddenly I have not been this excited about a YA book since I discovered Laura Lam.

The Guns Above by Robyn Bennis – Received it.  Then immediately started reading it.  And a bit more than half way through I am loving it.  Airship military combat fantasy.  This is the type of thing made for me.

Godblind by Anna Stephens – Ok so I requested this one.  I… cannot… resist… gods in my fantasy.  It is pure kryptonite.

Digital Review Copies

Raven Stratagem by Yoon Ha Lee – AAAAAHHHHYEEEEEEEE.  Yes I wanted it.  June is going to be a killer month.  I have a ton of reading to get through, everything is hitting at the same time.   Nine Fox Gambit was so amazing I simply can’t wait.

The Best of Subterranean –  Been a while since i went through a short story collection.  So I took the chance to request it.

The Legion of Flame by Anthony Ryan – The Waking Fire was hit or miss for me but it left me wanting more so I guess it can be considered a success.  Not sure when I will get to it but damn it I will try.

The Comic Book Story of Video Games by Jonathan Hennessey – I have mostly finished this one but don’t expect a review for quite some time.  This one isn’t out for months.


What can I say?  I am pretty happy with this outing.  I foresee some good reading ahead.  Any stand out?

25 thoughts on “A Book Haul Post

    • I don’t actually blame you at all. I only gave it three stars and called it a Mistborn knockoff with dragons. But there was just enough there to make me want to give it a try. The problem may come in not having an audio version yet; I do tend to be more forgiving of audio.

      Like

  1. Emily Lloyd-Jones sounds like a really interesting author! I’ll definitely have to check this out. And I’ll definitely be reading The Soul of the World because I have that ARC, as well 😀 Good luck with all that reading! It sounds like a busy month indeed…

    Like

  2. I’ll be keeping an eye out for your review of Raven Stratagem! The first book was wild, but as much as I enjoyed it, I can’t really say it was my kind of book. I debated whether or not to give the series another chance, before deciding to err on the side of restraint. So, enjoy it for me! 🙂

    Like

    • You know usually we match up pretty well when it comes to our tastes. But occasionally I just don’t understand where we converge. This series is wonderful and Sanderson is wasting my time! There. I said it.

      Like

  3. Soul of the World has already caught my attention, and if I didn’t have a far too busy reading schedule I would have requested it, although the 700 pages don’t make for an easy choice… Looking forward to hearing what you think about it!

    Like

    • We shall see. I never move random arrivals to the front of the pile and I don’t tend to go to for door stoppers as much as I used to. But I will probably give it a go since I have a rather open slate right now.

      Like

  4. Very interested to read your review of Godblind soon-ish?! 🙂 I’ve been eyeing that book up for a little while… Hope you enjoy 😉 and then let us know if we should drop everything else and just read it!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

