Sci-Fi Review: ‘Home’ by Nnedi Okorafor

I wish I could give Home, second in the Binti series a more in depth review. Sadly, despite enjoying it, I find myself completely lacking of anything to say. I think I know why, reviewing this series is like reviewing a TV drama series. Perhaps if I read the entire series in one go once completely, as many reviewers of television do once an entire series is complete, this would be easier.

Binti was a debut episode. It was kind of rushed, introduced too many characters that won’t matter, but had the pieces to hook a new reader. In it Binti saved the world, stopping a war by use of a Chekhov’s device that allows her to communicate with the militant jellyfish who slaughtered her ship. In the end she is going to school, with one of the aliens in tow as new best friend. The reader is not given much in explanation or resolution; it is expected that future episodes will fill in the details.

Home is that all important second episode. You know, after the advertising has already stopped and the time slot is moved to Friday night. But character growth comes in installments as new reveals are showcased. In this situation Binti’s already rough trip home (major cultural and family pressures she was able to quasi avoid while at university) is further complicated when some family history shows up at her door. Binti must learn to deal with expectations, culural and family, and figure out where to fit them in her new life. With her new friends. And soon enough, with the other side of her family she never had to consider before.

I am still not enthralled by this series. Some cool sci-fi ideas, a great main character, and a focus on the personal rather than universe affecting events. All this is good. But even after two episodes, err, novellas I am not seeing the depth I had hoped for. This may just be a book where mileage can vary. I am still enjoying the series and the short page length make it easy to follow. But I can’t help but feel there could be more here than the rather slow, not real deep story I have gotten thus far.

3 Stars

Copy for review provided by the publisher.

8 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Review: ‘Home’ by Nnedi Okorafor

  1. Yep. I will finish off the trilogy for sure. But right now it sounds like it may be extended and I just don’t think I care enough. Which sucks, I really want to like this one.

    Like

  2. I sort of enjoyed Binti, but it’s not my favorite Okorafor book by a long shot. Home sort of slipped by me and at this point it’s just too late to go back and catch up. I’ll take your word for it, skipping is OK:-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

