Final Tough Travels – Tricksters

Each Thursday, inspired by ‘The Tough Guide to Fantasyland’ we have in hand, we shall tour the mystical countryside looking for adventure and fun (and tropes) from all over fantasy.

Yes my friends it is time.  I am very proud of Tough Travels and where it went but it is time to say good bye to it.  I had planned on running it out until the end of the year but the quality of it is slipping due to my lack of involvement so the cord is being cut today.

At its peak Tough Travels had 24 blogs doing it weekly.  We have had 52 separate blogs participate at some time or another (Looking back at link ups there are a lot of blogs that disappeared and I had forgot about).  For a very genre specific meme I found this incredible.  I know I found many blogs for the first time just because they linked up; I hope others had the same success and bonding with it.

Quite often I saw our lists linked to other sites such as Reddit.  I have had authors link to it when it includes their books.  All in all, I am glad I did it.  But as my time in to it slipped to nothing so did interest.  This was a meme that took work; from me and from other participants.  And I am sorry to say I am no longer willing to put that work in.

So thank you all so very much.  It would have been just another feature without all of you who participated, added suggestions, and just took the time to scroll through the link up.  Tough Travels is probably the single thing I am most proud of from blogging and most of it is due to my fellow travellers.

If, by chance, there is someone who doesn’t want it to die just let me know. I will make an announcement if someone else wants to revive it and start hosting the link up on their own site.  We have strip mined the original Tough Guide source by now but it has been going for almost two years so starting it anew probably would lead to all kinds of responses we didn’t get the first time around.

With that, below is the final link up.  Thank you all.

This week’s topic is Tricksters

A great prank is always amusing.  Many an adventure start with a well placed trick.  They are even more amusing when performed by those with god like powers.

Leave a Reply

