Review: ‘The Windup Girl’ by Paolo Bacigalupi

The Windup GirlRecently I ran a giveaway for The Windup Girl.  I was offered a copy to read but had actually read it years before.  Unfortunately too long ago to really remember most of the details and there is no time to give it a proper reread for a proper review.  Thus I provide instead an old, pre-blog days, Goodreads review.  And yes I know, if all my reviews were this short my site would probably much more readable.  =)

Five stars for amazing world building and making me care about this new look world. Four stars for a great main character(Anderson Lake, who likes to think he is good but shows time and time again that he is a user of everyone).

However, dock a star for an author who choose to go into major details of a rape, not just once, but twice quite graphically. Once would have shown what he needed just fine. And dock another star for a huge plot hole around 70% in.

Other than that, I did enjoy most of this book, and will be dragging up the short stories to read more about it in the future.

3 Stars

In case you are wondering, yes, I did read one of his short stories and enjoyed it (and it is included in the new expanded edition).  And no, I have no idea what the plot hole I found was.  With this much time gone there is a chance I just imagined it, who knows?

Leave a Reply

