Tough Travels – Heists/Cons

tough-traveling

Each Thursday, inspired by ‘The Tough Guide to Fantasyland’ we have in hand, we shall tour the mystical countryside looking for adventure and fun (and tropes) from all over fantasy.

This week we look at Heists/Cons

Smash and grabs are not always the best way to illicitly acquire objects in fantasy land. Sometimes these things take planning, a loyal crew, and a little bit of luck. But a good crew can always get the job done.

Oh wow, is it Thursday?  Sorry I am late people, let’s go!

The Palace Job by Patrick Weekes- Actually, I have not read this book yet. Mostly I am putting it here as a reminder that I want to. Especially since an author recently recommended it to me. But I am positive that it is about a heist of some kind because reviews have told me so.

The Legend of Eli Monpress by Rachael Aaron- I picked the omnibus but really the heist aspects of Eli Monpress move on to a full blown save the world plotline that impressed me greatly. But the first two books are very much heists as Eli works toward his goal to be the thief with the highest bounty in the world. Which if he keeps it up shouldn’t be too hard; this is a man who can smooth talk an entire ocean and walk right out of any jail around.

A reread is desperately needed, I am missing Nico quite a bit these days.

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch-One of my favorite books. Sometimes I don’t understand why things are popular but this is certainly not one of them. Watching long cons worked out on several different time frames was a work of near perfection. The fact that Locke and his crew were doing all this thieving for religious reasons of a type even better.

But judging by how often Lynch ends up in Tough Travels I am guessing every one of my readers already knows how awesome this book is and has already placed it on their own list for the week.

The Crown Conspiracy by Michael J Sullivan – I remember this book started with a couple of thieves bragging about a hired out heist they just performed. I also remember I didn’t think it was believable nor that the two thieves were all that witty. I admit, I gave up about two thirds through when some wizard starting speaking in faux medieval English.

The Great Train Robbery by Michael Crichton-Not fantasy but I had to include my very favorite heist book of all time. Details, details, details. I love the long planning that was required to pull this one off. Even better was the ingenuity followed by pure luck in the final stages that allowed the villains access to their goal. A move was made based on this book. I should track it down. But I doubt it will live up to the book.

They never do.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling- Oh yes, any heist that ends with a dragon ride is guaranteed to close out a list. I couldn’t remember if this occurred in book six or seven but my lovely wife (who is currently on the final book of her latest reread) assured me that they went into the vault in Deathly Hallows. Where Harry and company pissed off a lot of goblins, tipped Voldy off to their plan, and of course rode a dragon out of town.

Join us next week as we look at DISGUISES

Hiding in plain site?  Put on a disguise.  Often used to sneak into the evil lair.  For best results brain a guard and steal his; no one is tracking these things.

If you have a topic you want to see us cover, or if you have an entry for next week’s post but don’t have your own blog to put it on, please head over to the main Tough Traveling page and fill out the form at the bottom.

As always thanks for joining, feel free to join along at any time, and please check out my fellow travelers!

Leave a Reply

