Tough Traveling- Holidays

tough-traveling

Each Thursday, our copy of ‘The Tough Guide to Fantasyland’ in hand, we shall tour the mystical countryside looking for adventure and fun (and tropes) from all over fantasy.

This week’s topic is HOLIDAYS

Never too late to celebrate … holidays! Because fantasy festivals and feasts are always fun.  Thanks to Wendy for the suggestion!  And feel free to blame her if this proves to be as hard as it sounds.

Oh ya.  We are blaming Wendy for this one.  Cause let me tell you, SO HARD.

Hogfather (Discworld, #20)HogswatchHogfather by Terry Pratchett –The only obvious one I could think of. And it is from my least favorite Prachett book thus far (no, take that back, Soul Music was worse). Still, a fat man who gives children presents, riding in a transport pulled by hogs.

I will admit that despite not enjoying the book on the whole watching ‘The Hogfather’ actually making kids overly grandiose wishes come true for the holiday (much to their parents dismay as they suddenly realize they have a pony to take care off) cracked me up beyond belief.

Lilac DayNight Watch by Terry Pratchett – An Anhk-Morpork specific holiday that commemorates a small revolution. One patrician was replaced by another and a few people died. But a few people remember. And there will be respect.

All the little angels rise up, RISE UP

All the little angels rise up high.

Light Festival Tangled – Look, it was a tough week for me okay? I will pad this list Tangled (2010) Posterhowever I want.

Once a year the king and the queen raise a lantern for their missing princess. And others do the same. Until she comes home.

Tangled was a move that surprised me, I wasn’t really sure I would like it but it is endlessly entertaining. And saving my ass this week with this week list I have put together.

Forgive me Tough Travelers, I shall do better next week!

Know what, let’s make sure of it.

 

Join us next week as we look at SNARKY SIDEKICKS

Why is everyone so serious all the time?  Perhaps they need a friend that is there with a quick bit of wit to liven the day; even if the day is looking to quickly turn to blood. (Not actually found in the Tough Guide)

If you have a topic you want to see us cover, or if you have an entry for next week’s post but don’t have your own blog to put it on, please head over to the main Tough Traveling page and fill out the form at the bottom.

As always thanks for joining, feel free to join along at any time, and please check out my fellow travelers!

AND HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

Leave a Reply

