DNF Round-up – Three I Lost Interest In

Over the last few months I have dropped a couple books after getting a decent way through them. Too many books, not enough time. I used to be a major completionist (this should totally be a word) when it came to books but my pile is too big to force myself through them anymore.

Obviously I cannot call what follows a review because I didn’t read near enough of the books to give a final judgment. So I leave you with a few words about why they were not working for me.

Midnight Thief (Midnight Thief, #1)Midnight Thief by Livia Blackburne – Perhaps more a case of YA overload than anything else. But despite the protagonist looking like someone I could grow to like I just wasn’t enjoying her story. Sometimes I can forgive the teenage wonder trope, other times I can’t. But what I really can’t seem to take anymore are worlds where adults take a backseat to a group of teens. A guild of Assassins who seem to be led by a teen (or young twenty something) and is filled by lots of other young people. Perhaps we meet adults later on? Not sure, but an early planning meeting with all the maturity of a frat party planning session seemed to suggest no.

Moving on.

Child of a Hidden Sea by A.M. Dellamonica – Portal fantasy. Something that misses more often than hit for me but I was willing to give it a try. But I despise a story that goes back and forth between the worlds and I didn’t connect with the protagonist anyway. Tag on a magic system that seemed to allow whatever fit the author’s conveniences (look, now you can understand everything I say!) and I dropped this one and have not looked back.

The Gifted Dead (Gifted, #1)The Gifted Dead by Jenna Black – I dunno, is this book for me? I thought it may be from its description because I like the occasional ‘what if’ future. But it appears to be more of a paranormal romance, something I can take if well done. This one however started to lose me with its X-man magic system in which everyone gets their own unique power, called gifts. But that wasn’t what made me put it down. I decided to leave it alone when a man is punished for failing a mission by having his sister raped by her husband and father in law. No worries though, her Gift allows her to leave her body and watch her own assault without emotion…

But perhaps it is up someone’s alley. I’ll leave y’all with a quote to help with these decisions.

Some people got Gifts of invisibility, or mind reading, or imperviousness to fire … Isabelle got fucking. But at least she made good use of it.

Maybe next time

Midnight Thief and The Gifted Dead copies for review provided by publisher.

 

 

Leave a Reply

